Menu Close


Safeguarding Statement

At The Federation of North & South Cowton CP School and Melsonby Methodist School the health, safety and well-being of every child is paramount. We expect all staff, governors, volunteers and parents and carers to share this commitment to safeguarding our pupils and undertake rigorous checks and training throughout the year.

We listen to our pupils and take seriously what they tell us. All school staff are trained in Safeguarding, E-safety and PREVENT as well as undertaking statutory elements through Keeping Children Safe In Education (KCSIE) and regular training.  Pupils are made aware of the adults (trusted adults) they can talk to if they have any concerns. Staff are continually trained through a variety of platforms to look out for signs of harm or neglect and understand their duty in reporting any concerns to the Designated Safeguarding Leads (DSLs) using our secure system (CPOMS).

The procedures which we follow have been laid down by the North Yorkshire Safeguarding Children Partnership and the school adopts and reviews the Child Protection Manual and Policy on an annual basis in line with the Partnership, for the safety of all.  The Federation completes the Annual Safeguarding Audit in line with the Local Authority expectations.

On rare occasions, a concern about a child may mean that we have to consult other agencies. We will ensure that all concerns are discussed with parent/carers first, before any referrals are made, unless we believe that such a move may be contrary to a child’s welfare.

The Designated Safeguarding Leader (DSL) for the Federation is: 

Mr Ian Mottram (Interim Executive Headteacher)

Each school site has a Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL): Mrs Vicky Bramma (Base Leader at North & South Cowton)

Mrs Nichola Davison (Base Leader at Melsonby Methodist Primary School)

The e-safety lead is: Mrs Vicky Bramma (Computing Lead)

Information relating to racial and homophobic incidents is overseen by: Mr Ian Mottram (Interim Executive Headteacher)

The Safeguarding link Governor is; Mrs Elaine Richardson (Co-Chair of Governors)

The Child Protection Policy is available here.

If you require any further information regarding safeguarding matters, please contact Mr Mottram (, Mrs Bramma ( or Mrs Davison ( by using their email address or by calling the School Office at either site or via the Contact Us link on both websites.