Welcome to the Governor section of the school website.  My name is Stuart Priestley and I have recently taken over as Chair of the governing body.  The governing body has a legal requirement in law and is an integral part of the leadership and management of every managed school in the country.  The governing body has the following core strategic functions:

It must establish the strategic direction of the school by:

  • Setting the vision, values and objectives for the school.
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets.
  • Meeting statutory duties.

It must ensure accountability by:

  • Appointing the headteacher.
  • Monitoring progress towards targets.
  • Performance managing the headteacher.
  • Engaging with stakeholders such as parents.
  • Contributing to school self-evaluation.

It must ensure financial security by:

  • Setting the budget.
  • Monitoring spending against the budget.
  • Ensuring value for money is obtained.
  • Ensuring risks to the school are managed.

The constitution of the governing body is set out in the Instrument of Government, which can be found in this section.  The body consists of eleven members made up of: the headteacher, one staff governor, one local authority governor, two parent governors and six co-opted governors.  There is also a Head’s Performance Review Panel responsible for performance managing the headteacher and there is also a complaints panel.

The full body of governors meet at least once each term.

At the present time, none of the governors have any financial or business interests that impact upon their role as a school governor.  Additionally, none of the governors fulfil governance roles in any other schools.


There is also a governors documents section on the website where you will find more information about the governors role in school.

Governor Roles and Committee Membership 2016/17

NOTE: This was approved at the Sept 2015 Governors meeting


ü   –  Full voting member

A    – Associate member

†    – Chair

‡    – Vice-chair

C    – Clerk

Full Governing Body SEN/G&T Governor Child Protection Governor Head’s Performance Review Panel
Stuart Priestley – Chair of Governors

(Co-opted Governor)

ü ü
Trevor Watson

(Executive Headteacher since September 2017)

Debbie Cheesebrough

(Staff Governor, elected Sept 2017)


Charlotte Noone

(Co-opted Governor, appointed January 2017)



Hannah Munro

(Co-opted Governor appointed January 2016)


Vacant position

LA governor

Rachel Thompson

(Parent governor appointed February 2016)


Names –Members of Governing Body 2015/16 who are no longer in post

ü   –  Full voting member

A    – Associate member

†    – Chair

‡    – Vice-chair

C    – Clerk

Full Governing Body Resources Committee CPS Committee SEN/G&T Governor Child Protection Governor Head’s Performance Review Panel
Janet Lee

(LA Governor appointed Sept 2012)

Resigned July 16

ü ü ü
 Charlotte Harper

Staff Governor (Temporary absence for maternity leave)

Clare Booth

(Parent Governor appointed Sept 2012)

Resigned from post Jan 16

ü ü
Judith Henley

(Community Governor appointed Nov 14)

(Resigned from post Nov 15)

ü ü
 Rachel Kingdom –resigned December 2016

(Co-opted Governor, appointed July 2015)

(Previously Community Governor since 2012)

The main committee is the Full Governing Body, and there are two sub-committees, the Resource Committee and the Safeguarding and Standards Committee (S & S).  The structure of the committees is as detailed in the table above.

The Full Governing Body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  1. Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  1. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

The Resource Committee has responsibility for the budget, the maintenance plan, health and safety, staffing and performance management.  The Resource Committee will be responsible for the policies and procedures that relate to those responsibilities.

The Safeguarding and Standards Committee is responsible for ensuring the curriculum us delivered as it should be, that a full set of policies are in place and are followed, and that strategies and targets are in place to drive up educational standards.  The Safeguarding and Standards Committee will be responsible for Safeguarding and the currciulum via the head teacher.

All Governors were appointed by North Yorkshire Local Authority, as stated on the Instrument of Government.

The term of office for all Governors is 4 years from date of appointment.

The term of office for the Chair and Vice-chair is one year, from the first Full Governors meeting of the autumn term at which they were elected.

There are no Associate members.

All Governors have declared that they have no business interests.

Attendance at meetings academic year 2015– 2016: All governors had over 60% attendance.

There are no relationships between governors and members of the school staff.